top of page

Mamba Madness!

On Saturday night I was called out to a shack in Chatsworth for a big snake.

I had visited the same shack a few days earlier, to look for this large snake, but I could not locate it. The locals were showing me how big this mystery snake was, but I wasn't sure if they were over exaggerating or not. They weren't!

On Saturday night it was climbing around inside the shack. I told them to please just watch it from a safe distance. Thankfully they did!

When I arrived, someone was at the door keeping watch. However, they said it had disappeared into the roof and they couldn't see it anymore. As soon as I walked in, I could hear a large snake moving in the layers of asbestos in the roof of the shack.

It was a low roof. I was busy tapping it to try and get the snake to move, and suddenly the head of a Black Mamba popped out!

Unfortunately, it kept reversing back in! There were a few gaps in the layers of asbestos. It was also far too heavy to move. So I had no choice, I had to break holes in it! I got a broomstick and started bashing holes in the asbestos, to see if I could see the snake (I was bashing away from where I could hear the snake.) Eventually I saw the body, and started poking it. The head then came out of another gap and I managed to get hold of the head! Finally!!

I had it safely secured, and the locals (and myself) were very excited! These poor people had been living with this mamba for weeks in a tiny shack!

Thankfully, they did not hate this snake, nor did they want to kill it. They had a healthy respect for it. They knew this mamba was eating the rats in and around the shacks. However, they were very pleased that it was now being taken away! They had their pictures taken with it before I left. For them it was a first time touching a snake and seeing one up close.

What a priveledge for them and myself!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Wix Facebook page
bottom of page